A response to homophobic discourse in the Tasmanian gay marriage debate.

I’ll preface this with two things… Firstly, I’m not trying to engage with whether or not legalising gay marriage in Tasmania is legally possible or sensible and secondly, this post focuses on to an extent discussions of homosexual males (see my last point) which I believe is representative of a larger situation in which we don’t seem able to equally include homosexual women in discussions of gay rights and just acknowledgement. Homophobia in Australia appears to be incredibly male focused.

1. Where on earth has this population decline argument come from?

This puzzles me the most, if we allow marriage equality (yes, we have to use phrases such as allow in reference to equality) then we will see our population decline further. The reason it puzzles me so is because marriage in contemporary Australia appears to have held little influence on the birth of children. Gay men and women are not currently ‘naturally’ impregnating straight men and women for the sake of the population, regardless of marriage. I would even be inclined to suggest that the opposite will occur, if we allow all members of our population to commit wholly to one another and further extend their sense of trust, love and security surely we’re like to see an increase in homosexual couples who feel welcome to the activity of raising a family.

2. Same sex couples raised confused children.

The first point I always make in this argument refers to my own upbringing, I was never taught that there was different between straight and gay. They were explained in a social context but with no sense of social difference or difference in worth. I never once felt confused. I didn’t feel anything but pride, admiration and love when my father came out to me and I continue to feel those things for him and the beautiful men who have been in his life – this is dating back to when I was 12 years old. I come from a loving and close family, one I consider much stronger than many in which all sexualities are seen as ‘appropriate’ to idiots from the Australian Christian Lobby and homophobic men and women who cannot understand enough to discover acceptance –  I’ve never been inclined to pity people as I do them.

3. There is nothing wrong or disgusting with men having sex with men.

I have to be frank  here because the discussion lacks an openness and honesty. ‘Man, I don’t mind what they get up to as long as it has nothing to do with me”, a sentiment most frequently echoed by people who engage in discussions of how much they wish their girlfriends would let them have anal sex. There is nothing disgusting about a man putting his penis is anothers’ anus, there is nothing disgusting about two people who love each other wanting to physically express it. There is no difference between a man doing something with a penis and woman doing something with one. Some people might be put off by this point but it’s an important challenge to make yourself acknowledge that labels of sexuality are useful for nothing other than navigating your own private and personal experiences. We all enjoy physical pleasure and we’re all entitled to it without small minded idiots claiming it to be unnatural or wrong.

 

Jamila.

About Liam Carswell & Jamila Fontana

We are two twenty something, pop culture loving, politics loving, left leaning, female rap adoring, fashion obsessive friends from Hobart, Tasmania, Almost Melbourne. On politics, world affairs, relationships, society and all things unspoken and awkward. Liam likes vinyl, Topman and coke. Jamila likes Eve, middle aged folk singers and Che Guevara (still!).
This entry was posted in Homophobia, Marriage Equality, Sexuality. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

